Circulation & Lending Policies
- MSU Affiliated:
Present your own current MSU ID card each time you check out material. We do NOT accept your driver’s license in lieu of an MSU ID.
Michigan residents at least 18 years old (who are not MSU students, faculty or staff) are eligible for community library privileges. Community borrowers must apply for a library card at the Main Library's Circulation Desk. All applicants must present a photo ID and proof of Michigan residence. After receiving your card by mail, you may begin to check out material.
- Faculty Authorization:
Students and staff members may apply for authorization to borrow research material on behalf of a faculty member. To authorize an individual, the faculty member must complete, sign and return a request form (available at the Business Library). Authorization cards must be renewed annually.
- Persons with Disabilities:
To request accommodation related to the circulation of materials in the Gast Business Library, please contact Chris DeFord at (517)432-7688. For accommodation relating to other aspects of library services, please contact Laura Leavitt at (517)355-4647. A Telesensory Reader is available for the visually impaired.
Generally, the following loan periods apply, although some materials may only be used in the library, or may have special loan periods.
|Borrower type||Books & accompanying CDs||High-use Periodicals||Other periodicals||Popular Business Collection||Business audio||Stand-alone CDs & DVDs|
|MSU Faculty & Staff||180 days||Building use only||14 days||14 days||14 days||7 days|
|MSU Graduate Students||180 days||Building use only||14 days||14 days||14 days||7 days|
|MSU Undergrad Students||21 days||Building use only||14 days||14 days||14 days||7 days|
|MSU Student Spouses & Community borrowers||14 days||Building use only||Building use only||14 days||14 days||7 days|
Some material cannot be checked out at all: periodicals, reference materials, items stamped "do not circulate," etc. Reserve materials circulate for 2 hours and may not be removed from the library.
All material may be renewed except recalled items, reserves, software, and special permission checkouts. Phone renewals are not possible. You can renew library material online.
Notices about library material are automatically sent via e-mail to MSU students, faculty and staff, unless paper notices are requested (in writing to Kriss Ostrom, Circulation, MSU Libraries, 366 W. Circle Drive, Dept. Circ-Info, East Lansing, MI 48824). It is the borrower's responsibility to read their MSU Net email regularly or to forward to an e-mail account that is read regularly.
If you need an item that is checked out, request a "recall" by using library webforms http://www.lib.msu.edu/howto/recall.jsp Circulation staff will send the borrower a recall notice, and allow them 14 days to return or be subject to fines of $1.00 per day. When returned, it will be held for ten days and you will be notified to pick it up.
If you receive a recall notice on material you have checked out, you cannot renew it. The recall notice will include the new due date, which will be earlier than the original due date. If the recalled item is not returned by the specified date, the borrower's library privileges will be suspended until it is returned, and recall fines of $1.00 per day will be charged.
Material may not be checked out for others. A borrower is financially responsible for all material checked out using his/her card. Therefore, theft/loss of an MSU ID or library card must be reported immediately by calling Circulation at (517)355-2333.
If you will be away, you must assure that library material checked out to you will be available to others in your absence. Either (1) return library material before leaving or (2) arrange for someone to watch your mail, have access to library material, and promptly return any items that are recalled.
Fines and bills are the responsibility of the borrower regardless of being away from campus for breaks between semesters, vacations, late or never-received reminder notices, etc. When a borrower owes $3 or more, library privileges are suspended without notice until the account is paid in full. Holds are placed on MSU student enrollment, registration, diplomas, and transcripts, which also remain until the account is paid in full.
Fines may be paid at the Main Library Circulation Desk with cash or a credit card. Credit card payments are also accepted by telephone -- call the Circulation Desk at the Main Library at 517.355.2333.
Reserve Materials: 60 cents per item per hour, 24 hours per day, from the time due until the time returned, with no grace period ($14.40 per day).
Recalled items, software, CDs, videodiscs, special permission check-outs, some seven-day material: $1 per day from the due date until the day returned, with no grace period.
The borrower will be billed for replacement of significantly overdue materials, and borrowing privileges are suspended until the account is paid in full or material is returned or replaced by the borrower. Replacement copies must be approved by the librarian. Holds are placed on MSU student enrollment, registration, diplomas, and transcripts, which also remain until the account is paid in full.
Minimum replacement charges are $50 for a book, $75 for a periodical. Current market value is charged whenever it is higher than the minimum replacement charge.