Michigan State University

Circulation and Lending Policies

Contents

The circulation policies of the MSU Mathematics Library, located in D101 Wells Hall, follow closely those of the Main Library, but are NOT always the same. Please read the following information carefully; it outlines your PRIVILEGES and your RESPONSIBILITIES. Anyone may use items on open shelves in the Mathematics Library, but you must have a library card to check out books or to use Reserve/Reference material. No library materials may be taken from the Library unless checked out; failure to check out items may result in criminal charges.

Top ↑

Use of Library Cards/MSU IDs

You may not check out materials for others or allow others to use your MSU ID card or library card. You will be held financially responsible for all material checked out to your card. Report theft/loss of your MSU ID or library card immediately by calling Circulation at 355-2333. MSU ID cards or library cards used by anyone other than their owners will be confiscated. MSU IDs (for students, faculty, staff, and their spouses) are issued with a barcode. If you are new to MSU, you must activate your email account before you can check out material. Michigan residents at least eighteen years of age (who are not MSU faculty, staff, or students) are eligible for community library privileges. Community borrowers must present photo ID and proof of Michigan residence at the Main Library Circulation Desk to obtain an MSU library card. If the individual has no outstanding fines or bills from a previous MSU library account, a card will be issued.

Top ↑

Returning Library Material

You are responsible for knowing the date your books are due, and returning/renewing them promptly. Material returned after closing is not considered returned until the next day the library is open. Material must be returned in the same condition as when it was checked out. Michigan Compiled Law (MCL 750.391) defines damaging or defacing library material (or keeping it long overdue) as larceny. You will be held financially responsible for damage that occurs while an item is checked out to you, so please point out pre-existing damage before you check out materials. Checked-out items will be recalled if requested by someone else. These must be promptly returned. Please return library material (or make arrangements with someone to watch your mail and have access to your library material) before leaving for vacation, sabbatical, university business, etc., so it will be available to others in your absence. Reserve materials from the Mathematics Library can be returned only at the Mathematics Library during open hours.

Top ↑

Responsibilities Regarding Your Address

MSU students must report all address changes (within 5 days of moving) to the MSU Registrar's Office, 150 Administration Building, or go to https://www.reg.msu.edu/StuForms/ChangeAddress/ChangeAddress.asp. Faculty/staff members must report address changes via departmental secretaries. Community borrowers must report changes at the Main Library Circulation Desk.

Top ↑

Overdue Fines

Fines and bills are the responsibility of the borrower regardless of vacations, exams, illness, car troubles, sabbatical leaves, late or never-received reminder notices, etc. Fine amounts are not calculated until after material is returned. When a borrower owes $3 or more, library privileges are suspended without notice until the account is paid in full. Payment may be made by mail or at the Main Library Circulation Desk. The MSU Libraries have a "no overdue fines" policy for most material. Your cooperation in returning or renewing material promptly after receiving your reminder notice will help retain this policy. In the Mathematics Library fines are charged for overdue Reserves, videos and recalled items. Fines for Reserve material, recalled items, and overdue videos are $1 per item per day from the due date until the day returned.

Top ↑

Bills for Replacement of Long Overdue Material

When an item is significantly overdue, the borrower is billed for replacement and borrowing privileges are suspended until the account is paid in full or material is returned or replaced by the borrower. Holds are placed on MSU student enrollment, registration, diplomas, and transcripts, which remain until the account is paid in full. Minimum replacement charges are: $50 for a book, $75 for a periodical. Current market value is charged whenever it is higher than the minimum charge. Billed material must be brought to the desk and renewed in person -- mail renewals are not allowed. When a billed item is returned, the replacement charge is canceled but any applicable overdue fine is charged. Unresolved bills may be turned over to a collection agency any time after 30 days.

Top ↑

Renewals

Library material must be renewed in order to extend the due date; renewals are not automatic. Phone renewals are not possible. Material may be renewed in person or by using the View Your Account feature. This can be accessed through Your Account.

Top ↑

Recalling Checked Out Material

The Library usually has only one copy of each title to support the information needs of the entire MSU community. Therefore, we will recall any checked-out item if it is requested by someone else. Recalled material cannot be renewed. If the checkout period was more than 14 days, the recall notice will include a new due date (earlier than the original due date). If a recalled item is not returned by the specified date, the borrower's library privileges will be suspended until it is returned and recall fines of $1.00 per day will be charged. Fines for items returned after the recall due date are the responsibility of the borrower regardless of vacations, exams, illness, car troubles, sabbatical leaves, off-campus university business, late or never-received recall or reminder notices, etc. If you will be away, you must assure that library materials checked out to you will be available to others in your absence. Either (1) return library material before leaving or (2) arrange for someone to watch your mail, have access to library materials, and promptly return any items that are recalled. If you need an item that is checked out, please request a "recall" online or at the Mathematics Library. Main Library Circulation staff will send the borrower a recall notice, indicating that the material must be returned within fourteen days. When returned, it will be held for you and you will be notified where to pick it up.

Top ↑

Loan Periods

Books

  • MSU Faculty, Staff, and Graduate Students: 180 days
  • MSU Undergraduate Students: 21 days
  • Community Borrowers: 14 days

Bound Periodicals (Journals)

  • MSU Faculty, Staff, and Students: 14 days
  • Community Borrowers: None

Reference

  • All Borrowers: Room Use Only

Top ↑

Current Journals

  • All Borrowers: Room Use Only

MSU Dissertations (Theses)

  • MSU Faculty, Staff, and Graduate Students: 180 days
  • MSU Undergraduate Students: 21 days
  • Community Borrowers: 14 days

Videos

  • All Borrowers: 7 days