Michigan State University

Though MSU Libraries remain closed to the public due to COVID-19, we are preparing to welcome students this fall, and we are working on changes inside our Library to welcome people safely. Our goal is to reopen to the public August 24. Until then (and after), we will continue to offer virtual services. Many resources remain available. Please see our Online and Distance Learning resource page for specific Library resources. Reference services are still available via chat and phone. We do have temporary policies for returning/renewing material.

1785, Etats Unis de l'Amerique Septentrionale

This map captures the state of affairs in the short period between the Treaty of Paris in 1783 and the formation of the Northwest Territory in 1787. When the United States successfully broke with Great Britain it consisted of 13 states and a considerable amount of unorganized territory. The exact boundaries of the states, especially their western boundaries, were quite imprecise.

The text mentions 10 new states to be made of the unorganized territory north of the Ohio River. Thomas Jefferson provided suggested names in a 1784 resolution: Silvania, Michigania, Chersonesus, Arsenistpia, Metropotamia, Illinoia, Saratoga, Washington, Polypotamia, and Pelisypia.

This represents the first time that ‘Michigan’ was applied to a land area on a map.

The map extends far to the West to include the Rio Grande [Rio del Norte] and areas that in a few years would be included in the Louisiana Purchase. Numerous Native American groups and settlements are noted, including Sioux, Padouca, and Apaches. In maps of this era, the Florida peninsula is often fractured into numerous pieces.

This map was a generous gift of Ron Dietz.

Download entire image
View Metadata
Back to North America Scanned Maps