Diane Wakoski

September 14, 2001

Diane Wakoski
Diane Wakoski has published more than forty collections of poetry. Her body of work includes four books that constitute her series, The Archaeology of Movies and Books, --Argonaut Rose, The Emerald City of Las Vegas, Jason the Sailor, and Medea the Sorceress. Several of her other collections include: Emerald Ice: Selected Poems 1962-1987, which won the Poetry Society of America's William Carlos Williams Award; and The Collected Greed, Parts 1-13. In addition to her poetry, she has also published four books of essays: Toward a New Poetry, Variations on a Theme, Creating a Personal Mythology, and Form Is an Extension of Content.

She has received a Fulbright fellowship, a Michigan Arts Foundation award, and grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Michigan Arts Council, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the New York State Council on the Arts. In 2003, Wakoski received the 13th annual Michigan Author Award, which honors a Michigan writer for contributions to literature. This award is sponsored jointly by the Michigan Center for the Book and the Michigan Library Association.

Diane Wakoski was born in Whittier, California and educated at the University of California, Berkeley. She now lives in East Lansing, Michigan, where she has been named an MSU Distinguished Professor in the Department of English, and since 1976 has been the writer in residence.

For more information on Diane Wakoski, please visit these websites:

To view Special Collections' holdings of Wakoski's work, please click here.

To hear Wakoski read from her own work, please visit the Vincent Voice Library, here.

Back to the Writers' page
Page Editor: BreezySilver
Last Updated: March 12, 2010