Nursing Resources
Nursing research and practice integrates knowledge from multiple disciplines. Below are several relevant databases to help you get started with your search.
Nursing eBooks
Nursing Databases
CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the leading English-language nursing database. CINAHL provides indexing for over 3,000 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals.
The premier biomedical database. PubMed is the free web-based version of MEDLINE. PubMed provides international coverage of English-and foreign-language journals in the areas of medicine, nursing, allied health, and the basic life sciences.
Provides Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials and other evidence-based medicine literature.
Use to locate literature on sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and health sciences. Contains information on the sociocultural aspects of illness and health.
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
The major database of materials in all areas of education. It contains both published journals and unpublished reports. Useful in locating education-related literature for and about nurses and nursing.
Covidence is a systematic reviews production tool for title/abstract screening, full-text screening, data abstraction, and quality assessment. Covidence was designed by researchers familiar with the systematic review process in order to make conducting reviews more efficient. It is the primary screening and data extraction tool for Cochrane authors. It can be used for any kind of literature review that requires reproducible and reportable reviewing and screening procedures.
JBI EBP Database contains a unique suite of information to help healthcare professionals with evidence-based practice, including systematic reviews, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, and evidence-based recommended practices.
AccessAnesthesiology is an integrated online resource that includes anesthesiology textbooks, images, videos, guidelines, procedures and other tools.
This database includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world.
Journal Citation Reports is available through ISI's Web of Knowledge. This is a resource tool for journal evaluation using citation data.
Searchable database containing the full-text of over 40 medical and nursing textbooks and reference books
Global Health is a specialist international public health database for academics, researchers, public health practitioners, NGOs, policy makers, clinicians, healthcare professionals and students.
Health & Wellness Resource Center (including Alternative Health Module)
A gateway of consumer health information including medical and professional literature in several formats.
Video Resources
Nursing Education in Video is a collection of online videos for the education and training of nurses, nursing students, and other healthcare workers.
This collection features content aligned to support traditional baccalaureate- and masters- level nursing programs.
Instruments and Surveys
HaPI, features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test, its development and administration.
Test Preparation
Board Vitals is an exam preparation and review question bank for the NCLEX-RN nursing licensure exam. You must register for an account (using your MSU email address) to use.